Tolerance and Patience Cut the Deepest

Standard

longsword-560500-m

You never know what will happen with your interactions with people.  What you might consider a throw away comment, or maybe a conversation that didn’t go as well as you would like can actually be a catalyst for eternal change.

When I was younger and living life foolishly, a godly man challenged me to consider my ways and change.  I scoffed at him.  Rather than argue with me he simply said, “It is the kindness, tolerance, and patience of God that will lead you to repentance.” (Rom. 2:4) He promptly walked away and I have never spoken to him since.   His words were like a cosmically sharp blade that cut to my heart.  My soul was wounded and I was spiritually bleeding out in a profound experience of Hebrews 4:12 -“The Word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

I wonder if he thought I was a hopeless case?  I wonder if he thought his words were wasted?  I wonder if he knows that his words, which were God’s Words, have changed my life?

Always remember that what you say matters.  Remember that you don’t need to argue anyone into the Kingdom or to immediately affect change in their life!  All you need to do is speak words of kindness, tolerance, and patience.  God will take care of the rest.

Leave a Reply

